Skip to content

The Writing Room

July 8, 2015

The launch of my new stationery-cum-all things writing-related shop has been the focus of much of my attention over the last three months or so, hence a rather pitiful blog presence. It also took away from my writing time, but I always knew it was a means to an end; by creating The Writing Room I now have a snug room in a Georgian townhouse in Lyme Regis, which is a writing space as well as a shop.

Here I will do a novel rewrite, following very encouraging and constructive feedback from the powers that be at Manchester Metropolitan University, all of which formed part of my (now completed) MA.

My other creative writing endeavours have involved working with some very talented Year 5 & 6 students from various schools around the area. Most recently I completed a series of workshops with five primary schools from the Honiton Learning Community, which involved flash fiction, recipe poems in a café, short stories on the beach and Haiku set to music, which formed part of an exciting interactive exhibition at Honiton’s Thelma Hulbert Gallery. As well as seeing the children gain confidence in their writing and enjoying reading & listening to their wonderful work, I’ve also been inspired by their energy. I look forward to more of this as my colleague and I work with new groups of Year 6 pupils in the next academic year.

After the long process of finishing my first novel, I’m now enjoying writing a new novella, the idea for which came to me over a year ago (MA and novel commitments meant it was prudent to hold back until this year to start to write it!). I’m also keeping in touch with my short story writing, currently mapping out various submission deadlines for the second half of the year. The challenge, as always, will be meeting those deadlines. The first step towards achieving this is a trip to the Ways with Words Festival of Words & Ideas at Dartington Hall in Totnes tomorrow, for Christopher North’s outdoor workshop Back to the Garden. Can’t wait.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2015 12:51

    Fantastic shop! Can’t wait to see completed, manuscript copies of your novel available to read at the lovely writing desk, followed by first editions of the published book available to buy!

  2. Kay Brealey permalink
    July 9, 2015 18:40

    Great post love! Writing Room looks fab. Can’t wait to see it in the flesh. Love Mum & Dad

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

The Mirabelle Tree

Healing from the inside out

Magic Oxygen

Breathing Life Into Words

Adam Marek

Short story writer

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

My Friend's House

Things we like, from her house, and mine

Dan Powell

Reading. Writing. Teaching. Learning.

My Jurassic Coast

Janis Lane: am writing

