Skip to content

Counting words

March 31, 2013

I’ve been thinking about word count. A brief trawl online brings up numerous opines on acceptable novel lengths, many of which make sense. I also like to think that the narrative arc will propel you up, out and gently bring you down to a natural halt, that is, when the tale is told. I think about books I have loved, ranging from less than 200 pages long, to more than 600. Who can put a quantity on such things? It’s certainly not for me to say. But, if it’s numbers you’re after, check out this blog post. It’s a feast of words counted.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2013 18:52

    I was completely fascinated by the word count stats and it also reminded me of some books I need to re read, with my ageing memory it will be like reading it for the first time. Will assess word counts before I begin.

    • April 16, 2013 17:12

      I agree, it was v interesting to see word count of some old faves and classics. A labour of love, I think.

Leave a Reply

The Mirabelle Tree

Healing from the inside out

Magic Oxygen

Breathing Life Into Words

Adam Marek

Short story writer

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

My Friend's House

Things we like, from her house, and mine

Dan Powell

Reading. Writing. Teaching. Learning.

My Jurassic Coast

Janis Lane: am writing

